Review of Black Widow Rating Revealed as MCU Film is Finally Locked

Black Widow Rating Revealed as MCU Film is Finally Locked

Black Widow rating revealed as MCU film is finally locked

According to Exhibitor Relations, Marvel Studios’ long-awated Black Widow solo movie has finally been rated, with the Scarlett Johansson-led film earning a PG-13 for “intense sequences of violence/action, some language and thematic material.” But what does the Black Widow rating mean, especially considering every Marvel Cinematic Universe movie has been given the same PG-13?

In terms of other MCU films, the closest to this one’s spy thriller tone was 2014’s beloved Captain America: The Winter Soldier, which also earned a PG-13 for “intense sequences of violence, gunplay and action throughout.” Sounds like Black Widow may in fact be even MORE intense than Winter Soldier with its promise of strong “thematic material” which could relate to the training program Natasha went through that was previously glimpsed in Avengers: Age of Ultron.

RELATED: Black Widow Box Office: Projected Numbers Improve After Recent Delay

Set between the events of Captain America: Civil War and Avengers: Infinity War, the film follows Natasha Romanoff (aka Black Widow) as she confronts the darker parts of her ledger when a dangerous conspiracy with ties to her past arises. Pursued by a force that will stop at nothing to bring her down, Natasha must deal with her history as a spy and the broken relationships left in her wake long before she became an Avenger.

The character was last seen during Avengers: Endgame, where she sacrificed herself on the planet Vormir in order for Jeremy Renner’s Clint Barton/Hawkeye to obtain the Soul Stone.

The film features a star-studded ensemble cast led by Oscar nominee Scarlett Johansson. Joining her are Golden Globe-nominee David Harbour as Alexei aka The Red Guardian, Oscar nominee Florence Pugh as Yelena Belova, Academy Award-winning actress Rachel Weisz as Melina, Ray Winstone as Dreykov, head of The Red Rom, and O-T Fagbenle as Rick Mason. William Hurt will also appear once again as his long-running character Thaddeus Ross.

RELATED: POLL RESULTS: Will You See Black Widow on Disney+ or in Theaters?

The movie was directed by Cate Shortland (Lore) from a script written by Jac Schaeffer (The Hustle). Black Widow is set to hit theaters and Disney+ Premier Access simultaneously on July 9, over a year from its original release date.

The post Black Widow Rating Revealed as MCU Film is Finally Locked appeared first on ComingSoon.net.

from Movies – ComingSoon.net https://ift.tt/32892BC
Bagikan ke Facebook

Artikel Terkait